top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJameson Hefti

Let's Get Festive!


It’s that time of the year where everything starts to pick up. You have to worry about getting presents, putting up decorations, and baking. It can get a bit overwhelming sometimes and hard to enjoy.


This year is your chance to make Christmas less stressful and more enjoyable for you and your family! As we all know, Covid has taken so many things from us this year, so why should we let Covid take Christmas from us?


In my house, we’ve gotten to spend so much time together as a family. We’ve spent time having fun while preparing for the upcoming holidays. Some of my favorite memories from Christmas are making gingerbread houses, baking cookies, and putting up all the decorations.


Of course, I have to share with you some fun ways to make these activities interesting. Let’s get to it!


Gingerbread Houses:


I don’t know about you but I know my family is very competitive. Every single one of us likes to win so every year we have a competition. We pair up into teams of two and get one gingerbread house per team. There is 20 minutes on the timer and whichever gingerbread house looks the best wins (the judge is normally my mom). This is such a fun activity to get involved in and have a friendly competition with your family.


Baking Cookies:


I personally always make the traditional gingerbread cookie and a basic chocolate chip cookie because of the saying, “if it isn’t broken, don’t fix it.” I don’t like messing around too much with my cookie recipes but I think this “challenge” would be so fun.


The “challenge” is like the TV show “Chopped.” Each individual gets 3 different items that the judge has picked out. Those 3 items need to be incorporated into the cookie. The amount of time will depend on how many people are participating at once. If there are 2 people participating, I would suggest 50 minutes.


Chopped- Christmas cookie edition will be a hit every year!



Putting up decorations:


When I was little, I remember helping with the tree, putting up the lights, and hanging the ornaments. I absolutely loved getting the opportunity to help and be involved. I also remember playing Christmas music while decorating. It really sets the tone for how the whole process will go.


What would really make decorating fun is making hot chocolate, having the fireplace on, and dancing to Christmas music. Now that would be the ideal Christmas decorating scene.



I really hope you enjoyed hearing about some of the things I like to do during Christmas time with my family. Come back for more! Merry Christmas!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How to Cook a Turkey (Non Traditional Edition)

The turkey is the most important part to any Thanksgiving dinner. I personally have never seen a table without a turkey on Thanksgiving. Since the holiday is coming up in about a week, I thought maybe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page